Monday, December 16, 2013

Thai University Bestows Honors Dr Cynthia With Doctorate

Dr Cynthia Maung

Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn will present Dr Cynthia Maung, the founder of Mae Tao Clinic with a honorary doctoral degree in recognition of her work with refugee and migrant communities on the Thai Burma border.

Ubon Ratchathani University (UBU), Thailand, will present Dr Cynthia Maung, a Karen doctor and founder of the Mae Tao Clinic on the Thai-Burma border with an honorary doctoral degree in Medicine on the 18th December 2013.

Dr. Cynthia spoke to Karen News that the degree was the degree was acknowledgement of the service her staff provided.

“This award shows the value of the healthcare services we provide on the border and of our health workers’ efforts. I am pleased that they are being recognized and encouraged.”

The honorary degree is to be presented by Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn.

The award is being given in recognition of Dr Cynthia’s work with Burmese refugees, migrants, and orphans at the Thai-Burmese Border, Mae Tao Clinic said in a statement.

Dr Cynthia said that she hoped to continue her collaboration with Thai health officials.

“We hope in the future, we can continue to coordinate with Thai health organizations.”

Ubon Ratchathani University announced the award in early November and said that Dr. Cynthia would receive in person the honorary degree.

Saw Win Kyaw, a director of the Back Pack Health Worker Team – a community based organization working on healthcare provision along the Thai Burma border – spoke to Karen News about the degree.

“Sayama [Dr Cynthia] provides health care and has treated everyone equally without discrimination. She is a role model [for the health worker]. She is a good example for the Karen people and for all health workers and organizations. She deserves many more honors.”

Dr Cynthia has received more than 20 international awards for her work in health and human rights including the Australia’s Sydney Peace Prize, The One Award of Hong Kong and the Ramon Magsaysay Award of the Philippines for Community Leadership.